Home » News » Fireworks Illegal in Unincorporated Placer County

Fireworks Illegal in Unincorporated Placer County

On June 23, 2014, Placer County Officials declared that use of any fireworks, of all kinds, is illegal in unincorporated areas of the county. Anyone caught using them will face a fine up to $2,000.

Placer County officials are reminding residents and visitors that fireworks of all sizes and types are illegal in unincorporated areas of the county.

“Extreme drought conditions make the fire dangers extremely high this year, and we want to remind all citizens that fireworks are a common cause of summer fires,” said Program Manager John McEldowney of the Placer County Office of Emergency Services.

The prohibition applies to both:

· Rural areas not located within the boundaries of any incorporated city or town and

· Unincorporated communities such as Penryn, Newcastle, North Auburn, Granite Bay, Meadow Vista, Foresthill, Tahoe City and Kings Beach.

Anyone caught violating the fireworks ban could be charged with a misdemeanor and face a fine of up to $2,000 per violation.

Some incorporated cities within Placer County allow Safe and Sane fireworks to be sold and used. Contact city offices to find out whether a particular city permits fireworks.

In unincorporated areas, the only exception to the fireworks ban is when an agency or person requests and receives a permit from the county to host a fireworks display operated by a professional pyrotechnics company. Requests must be submitted at least 30 days before proposed display dates.

A joint news conference Wednesday morning, representatives of local law enforcement and fire agencies including the Office of the State Fire Marshal, Cal Fire and representatives of the Sacramento Area Fireworks Safety Task Force will announce that they are once again targeting individuals who use illegal fireworks, and for those who brining them into California. For the 18th year in a row, they will institute a “Zero Tolerance” enforcement procedure.

The Greater Sacramento Area Fireworks Safety Task Force is a safety coalition made up of representatives of local government.


Aub 4th 1 firework 2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *